ATLANTIC & CAPE MAY COUNTIES ASSOCIATION OF SCHOOL BUSINESS OFFICIALS JOINT INSURANCE FUND

Resolution No. 2017-07

Appointing Defense Attorneys

WHEREAS, the Atlantic & Cape May Counties Association of School Business Officials Joint Insurance Fund has been organized pursuant to *N.J.S.A.* 18A-18B-1 et seq.; and

WHEREAS, the Board of Trustees of the Atlantic & Cape May Counties Association of School Business Officials Joint Insurance Fund finds that it is necessary and appropriate to designate Approved Defense Attorneys so that the claims filed against the member Boards of Education and for which the Atlantic & Cape May Counties Association of School Business Officials Joint Insurance Fund is obligated to provide a defense may be properly defended;

Now, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, by the Board of Trustees of the Atlantic & Cape May Counties Association of School Business Officials Joint Insurance Fund, assembled in a public session on May 17, 2017, that the following law firms and attorneys be and hereby are designated as an approved defense attorney for the Atlantic & Cape May Counties Association of School Business Officials Joint Insurance Fund in the areas specified:

Workers' Compensation Claims:

Freeman, Barton & Huber Law Offices of Neil Stackhouse, P.C.

With Neil Stackhouse, Esquire as responsible attorney

Pietras, Saracino, Smith & Meeks

Affanato, Marut, LLC

Capehart & Scatchard

General Liability and Automobile Liability Claims:

Capehart & Scatchard

Youngblood, Franklin, Sampoli & Coombs

Birchmeier & Powell, LLC

With James Birchmeier, Esquire as responsible attorney

Michael R. Rann

William Donio, Esquire of Cooper Levenson

Thomas G. Smith, Esquire

Educator's Legal Liability Claims:

Madden & Madden

Youngblood, Franklin, Sampoli & Coombs

Capehart & Scatchard

Marshall, Dennehy, Warner, Coleman & Goggin,

with Richard L. Goldstein, Esquire as the responsible attorney

William Donio, Esquire of Cooper Levenson

Thomas G. Smith, Esquire

Richardson, Galella & Austermuhl

With Linda Galella, Esquire as the responsible attorney

Conflict Resolution:

David DeWeese, Esquire

Be It Further Resolved, that assignment of specific claims for defense shall be made by the Attorney (Solicitor) for the Atlantic & Cape May Counties Association of School Business Officials Joint Insurance Fund who shall supervise and coordinate the defense of matters in cooperation with the Claim Administrator and in accordance with the Litigation Management Policy and other policies determined by the Atlantic & Cape May Counties Association of School Business Officials Joint Insurance Fund; and

Be It Further Resolved, that compensation for the services shall be in accordance with the amounts budgeted for the specific services and that the Fund will compensate attorneys at an hourly rate not to exceed \$150.00, paralegals at an hourly rate not to exceed \$65.00, attorneys attending workers' compensation court appearances at an hourly rate not to exceed \$150.00, and reasonable out of pocket expenses as approved by the Fund Attorney and Claim Administrator. Such amounts on these classes of claims shall conform with the Litigation Management Policy and other policies determined by the Atlantic & Cape May Counties Association of School Business Officials Joint Insurance Fund; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the compensation for the handling of friendly hearings in the New Jersey Superior Court shall be at the rate of \$650.00 plus court and necessary administrative costs per case for matters handled in Atlantic County and \$750.00 plus court and necessary administrative costs per case for matters handled outside of Atlantic County.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that copies of this Resolution shall be provided to the Administrator/Executive Director, Solicitor, and Claims Administrator of the Fund and those herein appointed for their information and attention.

This Resolution was duly adopted by the Atlantic & Cape May Counties Association of School Business Officials Joint Insurance Fund Board of Trustees at a public meeting held on May 17, 2017.

Secretary	